move along

After receiving information about people who were (maybe still are) unhappy over posts I made two years ago, I have cleared out almost all the posts that was made in 2013, the year this blog was started. Actually clearing out some old posts has been on my mind for quite awhile just hadn’t gotten around to doing so until now; no hate for the haters in my choice for doing so, just taking the opportunity to tidy up my blog. 

Those who have been around with me since the start of the my blogging journey would remember my blog was first called the P.K.s talk. It was originally created with the intention for it to be a public platform for me to rant about the downside of being a preacher’s kid, documenting things that horribly nasty people (some of whom have left the church) had done or said to hurt me and my family, or if it was a good day, i would give a detailed account of a happy Sunday at church.

As a then 14-year-old, I was forced to grow up quickly as a ministry kid, rudely awakened to the cruel fact that people who said they were Christians didn’t mean that they were angelic beings who could never sin, but in fact who sinned a lot and who hurt people in life and those in church would especially (maybe even purposely? idk) hurt their pastor along with his family. Having being treated unfairly and having seen how rude and nasty some Christians could be, i discovered that a very very healthy way to vent my inner frustrations that i would have never dared to verbally voice out + complain about some people/ situations as a ministry kid in real life on a blog was a splendid idea, and till today, i don’t think i regret beginning this journey.

2 years have since passed, and with enough maturity to let the past remain the past, I renamed my blog “the beautiful ashes”, the name coined from Isaiah 61:3 KJV “To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified.” with the belief that “the experience of our lives, when we let God use them, become the mysterious and perfect preparation for the work He will give us to do.”, and that the ashes from a life can be turned into something beautiful in the Saviour’s hands.
I guess occasionally I may still gripe and groan about unreasonable people in church, in my circles, but as far as I am concerned, I am moving on, you may hate on my posts made in 2013 or hate me even and I’m regretful you feel so, but I am not going to let you chain me to 2013 to be a prisoner of the past.

Whether you like it or not, I am moving forward.

One thought on “move along

Leave a Reply

