Goodbye, Sir.

My family excluding my eldest brother who was in HTA and a family friend went to queue to pay our last respects to the dear Minister Mentor just this week’s Thursday early morning.
We began to queue 12.10am and fortunately for us we only queued for about an hour, and we reached the parliament at about 1.30am.
As we stepped into the hall where the body of our beloved Minister Mentor Lee Kwan Yew lay in silence, the feeling I felt there was a strange feeling. A solemn respectful silence descended on the hundreds of us as we filed past the casket that was draped with the Singapore flag.

For me, it was overwhelming to finally be able to meet my country’s founding father but I regret that it was only in his death I could stand so close to this great man.
We didn’t have a long time to bow because of the great crowd that was queuing behind, we bowed for a second and moved on to walk out of the building. At that moment as I bowed in respect to the father of my country, I thought if any man deserved my bow that night, it would be my Sir Minister Mentor Lee Kwan Yew.

Today was the state funeral, at 4pm a siren was sounded over the whole of Singapore for a minute and at the same time Singapore held a minute of silence for this great leader of Singapore who changed this city of mudflats into a metropolis, who told us, confidence and boldness resonating in his strong voice, Never fear.

Thank you, Sir, for spending your life to give life to Singapore. Take your rest now; we shall never forget you, you will be forever engraved in our history and etched in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

